Time management ideas

Like me, when business owners run their offices from home plenty of time management skills are required, my top three are:

To do list image1. To-do lists: They are essential for organising tasks while freeing the mind to be creative and productive. Prioritising the list every morning is a fresh way to start the day, it is easy to timelog for billing if notes are added and stages are written into a detailed scheduled. A to-do list keeps me on task and motivated to complete stages in a timely fashion. It also keeps my multitasking traits under control and utilises time more effectively.

2. Projects & deadlines:  Working for more than one company requires a level of organised self disciplined especially when life gets in the way. Daily deadlines, project goals and quality objectives need to be balanced with the distractions of working from home. My difficulty is switching off when the office is always open and to be honest this is the most organised space in my house which creates a calming effect and I love being productive. To balance this I break down projects into chunks of time or activities therefore aiming for a realistic goal each day. Then enjoying my own time is more relaxing and refreshes my brain for the next day (learning to perfect this is a work progress ;oP).

Staying on target

3. Clear Communication: To stay on target with each project requires clear and defined instructions between me & the clients plus all the other professional people involved. Getting everyone the right information, coordinating the flow of information in the order required is definitely an important skill for remote work. I can’t go up to the next floor to the graphics department or meet the advertising agent in 10 mins for a chat. The best way I’ve found to meet the needs of my clients is to connect with professionals I trust. I communicate clearly all my requirements and organise all activities with plenty of spare time in the schedule so noone feels they are working under pressure. This level of organisation assists my time management and reflects in the quality of the work I’m able to produce daily. Plus I love connecting with more and more talented people with specific skills that benefit my RocketZone clients.

About rocketzone

This blog is about the projects at RocketZone Marketing, design ideas, magazines, online innovation and creativity. Other than marketing my interests are music, New Zealand, my kids, life with an Aspie, FRIENDS, outdoor fun, DIY at home, eco-sustainability and spontaneous adventures that happen.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

